American Library Association Committee on Accreditation Actions Taken – Spring Meeting 2007

Issued April 24, 2007

The members of the 2006-2007 ALA Committee on Accreditation are: Thomas W. Leonhardt, Chair; Karen Adams, Gail Avery, Lynn Silpigni Connaway, Ruth Faklis, Paula Fenza, Katy Marre, Nancy Roderer, Richard Rubin, Donna Shannon, Danny Wallace, Virginia Walter.

At its Spring Meeting, held, April 13 - 15, 2007, the ALA Committee on Accreditation took the following actions:

Accreditation Decisions

- Admitted Chicago State University to precandidacy status.
- Admitted the University of Ottawa to precandidacy status.

Reports

 Reviewed and responded to biennial narrative reports, statistical reports, conditional status reports, annual candidacy status reports, annual precandidacy status reports, and special reports from accredited, precandidate, and candidate programs.

Committee Matters

- Discussed the commentary received to date on the proposed draft update of the 1992 Standards.
- Planned for External Review Panel training programs scheduled for the ALA 2007
 Annual Conference
- Planned the 2007 Town Hall Meeting scheduled for the ALA 2007 Annual Conference.

Special Meetings

• Met with the ALA Executive Board to discuss the update of the 1992 Standards.