# IFRT Executive Committee Meeting Monday, February 8, 2021

10:00 - 11:00am AKST; 11:00am - 12:00pm PST; 12:00-1:00pm MST; 1:00-2:00pm CST; 2:00-3:00pm EST

# **MINUTES**

#### **Members Present:**

Kristin Anderson, Stephanie Barnaby, Jeremy Brett, Deborah Caldwell-Stone, Peter Coyl, Ellie Diaz, Rhonda Evans, Michael Furlong, Martin Garnar, Johanna Genett, Sarah Hartman-Caverly, Sam Helmick, Wanda Huffaker, Ray James, Charles Kratz, Rebecca Moorman, Steve Norman, Kristin Pekoll, Cyndi Robinson, Shane Roopnarine, Crystal Schimpf, Jennifer Steele, Amanda Vazquez, Ma'Lis Wendt.

## I. CALL TO ORDER/WELCOME:

Huffaker called the meeting to order at 1:01pm CST. A quorum was established. After introductions we resumed the rest of the agenda from 1/24 at the Midwinter Meeting.

#### II. INTRODUCTIONS

We introduced ourselves using the Zoom chat feature.

#### VI. REPORTS OF OFFICERS

- A. Chair: Wanda Huffaker
  - i. Very happy with attendance at our IFRT Executive Committee meeting during ALA Midwinter. When she first joined IFRT it was to engage in this kind of thoughtful discussion on intellectual freedom issues.
  - ii. Next Happy Hour scheduled March 8, to help get out the vote, talking about ALA candidates. The Happy Hour after that one might be on the topic of neutrality, and whether libraries should replace the term with another.
  - iii. Congratulations to Sam Helmick on election to ALA Executive Board.
- B. Chair-Elect: Sam Helmick
  - i. No report, but humbled and excited at the opportunity to serve. Also looking forward to talking about difficult issues.
- C. Treasurer: Steve Norman



i. <u>Proposed FY22 Budget</u> - General comments from Norman: this is a balanced budget. Revenue is on track, and we are not anticipating a dip in members next year. We budgeted for an in-person award ceremony at <u>LibLearnX</u> in January or ALA Annual in 2022. We also budgeted for the Oboler Award to be annual instead of every other year.

James mentioned an effort within the Social Justice and Intellectual Freedom Task Force of the Freedom To Read Foundation to collaborate on the Oboler Award. Garnar clarified that the group had discussed starting a new award, and Garnar suggested joint sponsorship of this existing award as an alternative. James will follow up with Kratz as details emerge.

Hartman-Caverly inquired about the availability of funds for presenter honoraria for upcoming webinars. Pekoll explained that a request needs to come to the Executive Committee, and if it is approved, the requestor will work with Pekoll to pay the speaker(s). We have room in the budget since we have not held any of the in-person events we budgeted for this year.

Helmick moved that we accept the Proposed FY22 Budget. Garnar seconded. The motion passed, with no opposition and no abstentions.

- D. Director at Large: Kristin Anderson
  - i. Nothing to report; involved in committee work.
- E. Director at Large: Stephanie Barnaby
  - i. Nothing to report.
- F. Director at Large: Jeremy Brett
  - i. Nothing to report.
- G. Secretary: Rebecca Moorman
  - i. Nothing to report; added a report from Garnar to this agenda since he hadn't been expected at the 1/24 meeting.

# VII. REPORT FROM COUNCILOR: Martin Garnar

- A. Garner shared his collected <u>report</u> of all of his meeting notes (previously posted on Connect) from the ALA Council meetings at the 2021 Midwinter Meeting.
- B. Garnar is on the Forward Together Resolutions Working Group, which is the latest iteration of the ALA restructure planning group. This group will take all the feedback provided to the Forward Together folks, and come up with how to actually start making changes. ALA's bylaws and constitution will need adjusting. The committee hasn't yet met. The Forward Together report at Council included a strong recommendation for an additional committee that will include intellectual freedom, so all of us sending suggestions had an impact.



#### VIII. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- A. Bylaws Committee: Stephanie Barnaby (for Trish Hull)
  - i. Committee met Friday 2/5 to discuss bylaws changes. Will send promotional materials to Amanda for distribution.
- B. Coalition Building Committee: Shane Roopnarine
  - i. New deadline announced for Hodges Award: February 26. The committee has already received additional submissions since extending the deadline.
- C. Education Special Advisory Committee: Sarah Hartman-Caverly
  - i. Wanted to share some information about *Frosty Windows, Frosty Mirrors: Representation, Labeling, Discoverability, & the Chilling Effect,* the social justice and intellectual freedom webinar and break-out listening sessions on Fri. 2/26 from 1:00 2:30pm CST. Here are some key links; please help us get the word out! <u>Connect event</u> and <u>Zoom registration link</u>. More than 100 have registered so far.
  - ii. Also shared a series of @IFRT\_ALA tweets, on <u>Collection management</u> practices, <u>Browsing collections & displays</u>, <u>Cataloging & resource</u> description, and <u>Library assessment</u>, patron data & privacy.
- D. Immroth Committee: Cynthia Robinson
  - i. Very excited to report, on behalf of the Immroth Committee, that the 2021 recipient of the Immroth Award is Martin Garnar. The announcement of this well deserved honor rendered Garnar speechless.
- E. Membership Committee: Johannah Genett
  - i. The Membership Committee would like to use their budget funds to offer on a first-come, first-served basis, free student memberships, from roughly March 15 April 15. Up to 25 new ALA student members will receive a student membership or joint membership, as well as an IFRT membership. IFRT will pay all of their membership dues. In addition, up to 200 current ALA student members could receive a student membership to IFRT. The total cost would not exceed \$2,175. Norman moved that we accept and fund this proposal. Helmick seconded. The motion passed, with no objections and no abstentions.
- F. Merritt Fund Support Committee: Ma'Lis Wendt
  - i. Nothing to report.
- G. Oboler Memorial Award Committee: Charles Kratz



- i. Waiting for the bylaws change to be approved. Can't update the website until the membership approves the award's frequency change.
- H. Program Committee: Jennifer Steele
  - i. Nothing to report.
- I. Publications and Communications Committee: Amanda Vazquez
  - i. Newsletter was just sent out last week.
  - ii. IFRTChat continues each month on Twitter.
  - iii. We will be starting a new campaign along the lines of *This is IFToo*, highlighting lesser discussed items of intellectual freedom interest, starting with Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion; Privacy; Privacy RFID; Net Neutrality; and Loyalty Oaths, as found in <u>ALA's Policy Manual</u>.
  - iv. Continue to send any items that need to be publicized to Vazquez through Connect or email amandav@dubcolib.org.

## IX. ANY OTHER BUSINESS TO COME BEFORE THE ROUND TABLE

- A. Upcoming events: <u>Frosty Windows</u> panel February 26; IFRT Executive Committee Meeting March 3; IFRT Happy Hour March 8.
- B. Schimpf asked for clarification on what changes to the bylaws are being voted on by the membership. Diaz explained the three bylaws amendments that will be on the ballot: 1) Change the name of the Program Committee to Programming & Events Committee; 2) Remove the descriptions of the nine standing program committees with the intent to move those over to the IFRT Handbook; and 3) The Executive Committee (rather than full membership) votes on changes to charges of committees. Pekoll shared an Infographic on the topic prepared by Barnaby.

# X. ADJOURNMENT

Huffaker adjourned the meeting at 1:47pm CST.

