ALA Council/Executive Board/Membership Information Session

Saturday, January 25, 2020; 3:30-5:00pm Philadelphia Convention Center, Terrace IV Ballroom Philadelphia, PA

In accordance with A.4.2.5.2, the ALA Council/Executive Board/Membership Information Session at the ALA Annual Conference will be open to all members.

Presiding Officer: Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President

Assisting Presiding Officer: Julius C. Jefferson Jr., ALA President-Elect

Secretary of Council: Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director

Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Order of Business		
	**Time Allowance	
CALL TO ORDER		
 Introductions and Announcements, Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President Introduction of the New ALA Executive Director 	5 Mins	
REPORTS		
 ALA Presidents' Report Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President, ALA CD#21 	5 Mins	
 ALA President-Elect's Report Julius C. Jefferson Jr, ALA President-Elect, ALA CD #29 	5 Mins	
 ALA Executive Director's Report Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director, ALA CD#23 	5 Mins	
 2020 Nominating Committee Report Emmanuel Faulkner, ALA Nominating Chair, ALA CD#26 and 26.1 	10 Mins	
 ALA Endowment Trustees Report Pat Wand, Senior Endowment Trustee, ALA CD#16 	10 Mins	
 Budget Analysis and Review Committee (BARC) Report Peter Hepburn, BARC Chair ALA CD#33 	10 Mins	
- ALA Treasurer's Report Maggie Farrell, BARC Chair ALA CD#13	10 Mins	
 Philanthropy Advisory Group (PAG) Lenore England, Philanthropy Advisory Group Chair ALA CD#34_INFO 	10 Mins	

ANNOUNCMENTS

Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director and ALA Secretary of Council

ADJOURNMENT

ALA Council I

Sunday, January 26, 2020; 9:00am-11:00am Philadelphia Convention Center, Terrace IV Ballroom Philadelphia, PA

Presiding Officer: Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President

Assisting Presiding Officer: Julius C. Jefferson Jr., ALA President-Elect

Secretary of Council: Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director

Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Order of Business

**Time Allowance

5 Mins.

- CALL TO ORDER, Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President
 - Introductions and Announcements
 - o Introduction of the New ALA Executive Director
 - Establishing the Quorum (75 Councilors constitute a quorum)
 - Adoption of the Rules, ALA CD#5_ action item
 - Agenda Review, ALA CD#8.1 action item

(New Items May be Introduced Here)

- MINUTES
 - Approval of the 2019 ALA Annual Conference Council Minutes
 Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President, ALA CD#2_ action item

1 Min

- Reports of Officers:
 - Review of Executive Board Actions since the 2019 Annual Conference
 Mary W. Ghikas, Executive Director and Secretary, ALA CD#15-15.1

2 Mins

 Implementation of the 2019 ALA Annual Conference Council Actions, Mary W. Ghikas, Executive Director and Secretary ALA CD#9 5 Mins

- Reports of Special Committees:
 - Steering Committee on Organizational Effectiveness
 Lessa Pelayo-Lozada (SCOE, Chair) and Jim Meffert (Tecker International, LLC)
 ALA CD#35

• Reports of ALA/Council Committees:

Nominations for the Council Executive Board Election
 Julius C. Jefferson Jr., ALA President-Elect and
 Chair, Committee on Committees, ALA CD#11_ action item

5 Mins

 Appointment of the Tellers Committee for the ALA Executive Board Election,
 Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President, ALA CD#11.1_inf 1 Min.

- ALA Awards Committee
Buenaventura B. Basco, Chair, ALA CD#31_ action item

20 Mins

- ALA Resolutions Committee
Bill Sudduth, acting Chair, ALA CD#10.1

10 Mins

NEW BUSINESS

RESOLUTION Ensuring Intellectual Freedom and the Right to Peacefully Assemble at ALA Conferences and Meetings, Tara Brady, SRRT Councilor ALA CD#40 _action item

20 Mins

ANNOUNCMENTS

Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director and ALA Secretary of Council

ADJOURNMENT

ALA Council II

Monday, January 27, 2020; 10:00am-12:00pm Philadelphia Convention Center, Terrace IV Ballroom Philadelphia, PA

Presiding Officer: Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President

Assisting Presiding Officer: Julius C. Jefferson Jr., ALA President-Elect

Ed Sanchez, Chair, ALA CD #37_ action item

Secretary of Council: Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director

Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Order of Business

Time Allowance • CALL TO ORDER, Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President 5 Mins - Introductions and Announcements - Establishing the Quorum (75 Councilors constitute a quorum) - Agenda Review, ALA CD#8.2_action item (New Items May be Introduced Here) Reports of ALA/Council Committees: - Committee on Organization 10 Mins James "Jim" Neal, Chair, ALA CD#27-27.1 action item **Reports of Special Committees: Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) 10 Mins Jim Neal, FTRF Board of Trustees, Treasurer, ALA CD#22 Taskforce on Online Deliberation and Voting for ALA Council 10 Mins

NEW BUSINESS:

Affiliate Request – Polish - American Librarians Association
Julius C. Jefferson, Jr. ALA President-Elect, ALA CD#39_ action item

10 Mins

ANNOUNCMENTS

Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director and ALA Secretary of Council

ADJOURNMENT

ALA Council III

Tuesday, January 28, 2020; 8:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. Philadelphia Convention Center, Terrace IV Ballroom Philadelphia, PA

Presiding Officer: Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President

Assisting Presiding Officer: Julius C. Jefferson, Jr., ALA President-Elect

Secretary of Council: Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director

Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Order of Business

**Time Allowance

5 Mins

- CALL TO ORDER, Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President
 - Introductions and Announcements
 - Establishing the Quorum (75 Councilors constitute a quorum)
 - Agenda Review, ALA CD#8.3 action item

(New Items May be Introduced Here)

MEMORIALS, TRIBUTES AND TESTIMONIALS

Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President

10 Mins

MEMORIALS:

Ellen Greenblatt, M-#1
Willis Bernard "Bill" Lukenbill, M-#2
Dr. Hilda L. Jay, M-#3
Bill Ptacek, M-#4
Carolyn A. Markuson, M-#5
Learned T. (Dag) Bulman, M-#6

TRIBUTES:

Resolution Recognizing the Florida Library Association's 100th Anniversary, T-#1

• REPORTS OF ALA/COUNCIL COMMITTEES

-	ALA Executive Board Election Results Andrew Wertheimer, Chair, CD#11.2_inf,	5 Mins,
-	Committee on Legislation	10 Mins
	Rob Banks, Chair, ALA CD #20	
-	International Relations Committee	10 Mins
	Emily Drabinski, Chair, ALA CD#18	
-	Intellectual Freedom Committee	10 Mins
	Julia M. Warga, Chair, ALA CD #19	
-	ALA Committee on Professional Ethics (COPE) Andrew Harant, Chair ALA CD#24	10 Mins

• Reports of Officers:

FY2021 Programmatic Priorities
 Maggie Farrell, ALA Treasurer, ALA CD#13.1

5 Mins

• Reports of Special Committees:

• New Business:

ANNOUNCMENTS

Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director and ALA Secretary of Council

5 Mins

ADJOURNMENT