For Immediate Release April 1993

From: Pamela Goodes Linda Wallace 312-280-5043, 5042

## National School Library Media Program of the Year Award finalists announced

Four finalists for the 1993 American Association of School Librarians (AASL) National School Library Media Program of the Year Awards have been announced.

The awards, donated by Encyclopaedia Britannica Educational Corporation, honors excellence and innovation in school library media program services.

Two schools have been selected as finalists in the small school district competition (enrollment less than 9,999 students) -- Indian Prairie School District 204 in Naperville, Ill., Nancy Young, library media center coordinator and Thomas G. Scullen, superintendent, and Stoughton (Wis.) Area School District, Erlene Bishop Killeen, district media coordinator and Matthew W. Gibson, superintendent.

Two schools have also been chosen as the finalists in the large school district category (enrollment greater than 10,000 students) -- Blue Valley School District USD 229 in Overland Park, Kan., Ruth Bell, director of library media services and James C. Thompson, superintendent, and Northside Independent School District in San Antonio, Texas, Nancy Dobrot, director of library services and Jack C. Jordan, superintendent.

There are no finalists in the single school category.

- over -

## National School Library Media Program of the Year Award finalists announced -- add one

Committee members made site visits to the finalist in early April. The committee is chaired by Diane D. Myers.

Each finalist will be judged on how well its program meets the challenge of "Information Power: Guidelines for School Library Media Programs" by providing a school library media program that ensures that students and staff are effective users of information. (American Library Association and Association for Educational Communications and Technology, 1988.)

Members of the 1993 committee include. Myers, chair, Atlanta, Ga.; Suzanne W. Hawley, Naples, Fla.; Barbara Jeffus, Fresno, Calif.; Paula Kay Montgomery, Baltimore, Md., and Bernice (Bunny) Yesner, Woodbridge, Conn.

Winners will be announced in late April. The award will be presented on Monday, June 28, at the AASL Award Luncheon featuring author Bruce Brooks as guest speaker. The luncheon will be held during the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

For more information, contact Marie-Louise Settem at 800-545-2433, ext. 4381.

- 30 -