

## ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGE & RESEARCH LIBRARIES COMMUNITY AND JUNIOR COLLEGE LIBRARIES SECTION

ALA Annual Conference—Toronto, Ontario

Membership Meeting June 22, 2003 8:00 AM – 9:10 AM Delta Chelsea Hotel, Carlyle Room

**Attendance:** Christine Godin, David Goble, Mary Konkel, Linda Winters, Mary M. Carr, Smiti Gandhi, Rebecca Walden (Ebsco), Mary Sue Hoyle (Ebsco), Imogene Book, Susan Maltese, Reta Jones, Joan Schlimgen, Cheryl Neal, Ann Campion Riley, Bernard Fradkin, Carolyn Norman, Cynthia Steinhoff

Call to order, welcome and introductions: Cynthia Steinhoff, Chair, introduced herself and Christine Godin, outgoing chair and secretary, respectively. She also introduced Mary Carr (new Chair-Elect), Ben Hawk (ACRL office), and Mary Sue Hoyle and Rebecca Walden of Ebsco. The new Chair, Marianne Rough, did not attend the conference as she is recovering from surgery.

**Announcements:** Cynthia reiterated the times and locations of the Executive Board meetings and the meeting for the CJCLS -NCLR discussion group. She also announced that our Canadian counterparts were hosting a library tour at Centennial College. A reception, sponsored by Bibliocentre, was to be held at the Jump Café at 8 PM. All members were invited to attend as this event took the place of our traditional Friday night dinner.

New business: The Bibliographic Instruction committee requested a renaming of their committee to Library Instruction Committee. There is no provision in the section bylaws to make a change, so ACRL recommended that we disband the current committee and create a new one with the new name. Bernie moved, seconded by Mary Konkel, for the motion. A lengthy discussion ensued that revealed philosophical differences among the members. Smiti Gandhi explained the thinking behind the suggested change. There were comments from Bernie Fradkin, Susan Maltese, Ann Riley, Reta Jones and Christine Godin. The vote was 5-5 with 3 abstentions. Cynthia broke the tie with a NO vote. The proposal will go back to the committee for further discussion.

CJCLS/Ebsco Awards: The CJCLS/Ebsco Learning Resources Award for Individual Leadership was presented to Mary Carr, dean of instructional services and telecommunications and director of college development at Spokane Community College. Baton Rouge Community College in Louisiana received the CJCLS/Ebsco Learning resources Award for Program Achievement. Mary accepted her award at the meeting; Cynthia accepted the Baton Rouge award on their behalf and read a statement of appreciation from that institution.

Other business: Reta Jones commented that ACRL wants community college input on any changes their "activities."

The subject of virtual meetings was discussed.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:07 AM.

Respectfully submitted,

Christine C. Godin Secretary 2002-2003