DRAFT MINUTES

ALA Midwinter Conference 2009 ACRL CJCLS Executive Committee Meeting Minutes Colorado Convention Center, Denver Saturday, January 24, 2009 8-10 AM

Attendance: Jose Aguinaga, Adam Burling, Ann Coder, Dave Dowell, Eva Lautemann, Alice Lubrecht, Michael LaCroix, Lora Mirza, Kenley Neufeld, Nan Schichtel, Mary Ann Sheble, Ellen Sutton, David Wright. Guest: Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by Chair Lora Mirza at 8:10. Introductions were made.

Minutes & Agenda: The agenda was amended and approved. The minutes of the 2008 June 30 Executive meeting which had been approved were affirmed and will be forwarded to ACRL. Motion passed: Lubrecht / Aguinaga. **Speaker:** Dave Dowell spoke about the national voluntary certification project for Library Support Staff Certification Program LSSCP working in academic libraries. The reason this project was brought to CJCLS was because ACRL would consider this issue and ALA would have the opportunity to approve it. The Allied Professions Association APA has been working on this proposal for a few years, and CJCLS has been interested in it, and members have worked on it because several community or junior colleges provide programs in library technology education. This program can exist without ALA's blessing but would have better chance of success if ALA is on board. (see LSSCP documents)

Neufeld/Aguinaga presented a resolution for discussion. There is a possibility of a national standardized test, and of early adopters of the program to be able to submit portfolios to prove prior knowledge and mastery. CC with LTA courses should consider how their curriculum would fit with the proposed LSSCP proposed curriculum. Call the question / the motion passed unanimously to support the program and to urge ACRL to take a leadership role in approving and sponsoring the program. (see resolution document)

Committee Reports:

Conference: Ann Coder and Lora Mirza's committee met Friday. Donna Younger is the speaker on First Year Experience FYE programs. She is not a librarian, and therefore can be compensated for her presentation. The others in the program are librarians and cannot be compensated per ALA rules. They include librarians from Northampton CC, Tidewater CC and Wayne State University. College Libraries Section CLS and Instruction Libraries Section ILS are co-sponsoring this event.

Formerly, Ebsco sponsored a breakfast for CJCLS and its awards program. That will change in Chicago where the CJCLS dinner will be the venue for the Ebsco awards. The funds will pay some of the dinner expenses. Jose is taking care of the awards process and David is in charge of Hot Topics.

Vice-Chair Report: Maryann is working on sending the 2 CC librarians who are taking part in the panel to a future FYE conference to present about library involvement. The proposal has been approved and funded (projects linked to the ACRL plan do get funded!) This will take place in Denver in February 2010 if they get accepted as presenters.

DRAFT MINUTES

Past-Chair: Kenley Neufeld has converted the bylaws to a procedures format per ACRL's directive so we now have more flexibility to make changes as needed.

Secretary: No report.

Newsletter: Ellen plans to publish the newsletter twice a year, once during the Fall Semester with an October 1 deadline, and the second time in the Spring with an April 1 deadline. She wants ideas for a "librarians in the news" column. Ellen says this is a fun job but she is looking for a replacement.

ACRL Liaison: Michael applauded Kenley's work on the procedures. He shared information about ACRL Seattle which is actually running slightly ahead of schedule in terms of attendees – a pleasant surprise considering the economy. ALA is shortening the conference calendar and has asked for input. Nan asked Michael to check to see that CJCLS definitely get a program slot in the calendar for 2010 as we did not have a program slot on the multicolored calendars distributed at Leadership Council. Due to a schedule change, Candidate Kelly S. Janousek would visit CJCLS at the All-Committees Meeting on Sunday.

ACRL Candidate: Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe visited our session. She is a former CJCLS member who served as our technology section chair.

ACRL Staff Liaison: Adam Burling asks that all reports be sent to him.

Membership / Communications: Eva reported that CJCLS is one of the few sections that has grown in the last year. As of November 2008, we have 1437 members. This committee is asked to send information to the newsletter and webmaster who are also members of the committee. New members get a welcome letter and are told about the website and listserv.

Library Technology Assistant: Maryann said this group would discuss the implications of the Dowell proposal.

Awards: Jose said there were 7 nominees for program / leadership awards which are sponsored by Ebsco. There is a plaque and a \$500 award for each. His is a closed meeting per ALA bylaws.

Chair: Lora has been working as co-chair on the program in Chicago with Ann. She congratulated Mary Ann and Steve Irving for their planning and coordination of the very successful CJCLS Midwinter Friday Night Dinner at the Rialto Café the night before. This year, the emphasis will be on improving the website. Jon Stahler is the main contact at ALA for the website issues. Anne our webmaster has had to wait for ALA to upgrade its infrastructure but is poised to move forward soon. Lora asked Mary Ann to chair the ad hoc committee charged with planning the first combined EBSCO Awards/Membership Friday Night Dinner at the Annual Conference. Steve, who could not attend Midwinter, will be part of the planning team.

Adjournment: at 10 AM. Schichtel / Wright – motion passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Nan Schichtel, CJCLS Secretary