The Merritt Fund

Leroy C. Merritt Humanitarian fund

50 EAST HURON STREET, CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60611

(800) 545-2433 ext. 4226

(312) 280-4226

(312) 280-4227 Fax

www.merrittfund.org

merrittfund@ala.org

THREE-YEAR REPORT

2006-2008

INTRODUCTION

The Merritt Fund was established in 1970 as a special trust in memory of Dr. LeRoy C. Merritt. It is devoted to the support, maintenance, medical care, and welfare of librarians who, in the Trustees' opinion, are:

- Denied employment rights or discriminated against on the basis of gender, sexual orientation, race, color, creed, age, disability, or place of national origin;
- Denied employment rights because of defense of intellectual freedom; that is, threatened
 with loss of employment or discharged because of their stand for the cause of intellectual
 freedom, including promotion of freedom of the press, freedom of speech, and the
 freedom of librarians to select items for their collections from all the world's written and
 recorded information.

The Merritt Fund is governed by a board of three trustees who are elected by donors of the Fund. Since the previous three-year report, covering 2002–2005, the main goals of the Trustees have remained the same:

- To ensure that all librarians who qualified for and had need for Merritt Fund assistance knew about the organization or could be readily directed to it;
- To ensure that the Merritt Fund had adequate resources to provide the needed assistance.

HIGHLIGHTS

In the past three years, the Merritt Fund has significantly ramped up its visibility efforts, which has taken several forms:

- The Intellectual Freedom Round Table in 2008 made permanent its ad hoc Merritt Fund Promotion subcommittee, and has made a financial commitment in support of the Merritt Fund's annual fundraising receptions during ALA's annual conference (which for several years have been hosted by the ALA president elect;
- A new logo was created, and a brochure was produced and has been widely distributed to ALA members and others:

- A video featuring Merritt Fund trustees is posted on the Merritt Fund website and on YouTube;
- Participating in the Diversity Fairs and "Conference 101" activities at ALA annual conference, and holding an open "conversation" at the Midwinter Meetings for people.
- Established a promotional page on Facebook.

In 2006, the Merritt Fund Trustees agreed to interpret the definition of "librarian" broadly to include non-MLS information professionals.

FINANCIAL REPORT

Over the past three years, the Merritt Fund has steadily maintained a corpus of over \$20,000. While this has allowed the Fund to continue to provide financial support to grantees, the Trustees have made it a goal to increase the corpus, and thus to be more proactive in fundraising and in cutting extraneous expenses, including moving from an annual audit to a biannual one.

Toward the goal of increasing the Merritt Fund's corpus and promoting the Fund, as well as celebrating four decades of providing hundreds of thousands of dollars to librarians in need, the Merritt Fund will be holding a gala fundraising event in celebration of the Fund's 40th Anniversary during the 2010 Annual Conference in Washington, DC.

July 11, 2009

FINANCIAL REPORT

FY2006 Fund Balance: January 1, 2006:	\$22,038.71
Grants distributed 1. Discrimination	(\$700.00)
Other expenditures Accounting expenses, taxes, overhead Reception	(\$1,753.15) (\$1,156.88)
Contributions 84 Members in 2006	\$5,347.00
Other income Gift Interest	\$50.00 \$536.47
Balance as of December 31, 2006: Change in balance, FY2006	\$24,362.15 \$2,323.44
FY2007 Fund Balance: January 1, 2007:	\$24,362.15
Grants Distributed No grants were distributed in 2007.	
Other expenditures Accounting expenses, bank fees, overhead Reception	(\$4,974.76) (\$2,402.40)
Contributions 50 Members in 2007	\$3,205.00
Other income Gifts Interest IFRT sponsorship of reception	\$455.50 \$627.17 \$600.00
Balance as of December 31, 2007: Change in balance, FY2007	<u>\$21,872.66</u> (\$2,489.49)

FINANCIAL REPORT, CONT.

FY2008 Fund Balance: January 1, 2008:	\$21,872.66
Grants distributed 1. Intellectual Freedom (1)	(\$5,000.00)
Other expenditures Accounting expenses, bank fees, overhead Design & production, logo & brochure Reception	(\$1,732.25) (1,672.60) (\$140.27)
Contributions 116 Members in 2008	\$5,904.00
Other income Gifts Interest IFRT sponsorship of reception	\$195.00 \$49.99 \$1,000.00
Balance as of December 31, 2008: Change in balance, FY2008	\$20,583.53 (\$1,289.13)
Total expenditures, 2006-2008	
2 Grants Other expenditures	\$5,700.00 \$13,832.31
TOTAL	(\$19,532.31)
<u>Total income</u> , 2006–2008	
Contributions 250 Member donations Interest Gifts/Extra contributions	\$14,456.00 \$1,213.63 \$2,300.50
TOTAL	\$16,775.1 3
Change in balance, 1/1/2006-12/31/2008	(\$1,455.18)

MERRITT FUND TRUSTEES, 1970-2008

* indicates Senior Trustee

1970–1975	Alex Allain
1975–1976	Joan B. Goddard, Zoia Horn, Joslyn N. Williams
1976–1977	Zoia Horn, Joan Goddard, Betty Carol Sellan (Elected)
1977–1978	Joan Goddard*, Betty Carol Sellan, Joan Marshall (Elected)
1978–1979	Betty Carol Sellen*, Joan Marshall, Diane Kadanoff (Elected)
1979–1980	Joan Marshall*, Diane Kadanoff, Suzanne LeBarron (Elected)
1980–1981	Diane Kadanoff*, Suzanne LeBarron, Janet Freedman (Elected)
1981–1982	Suzanne LeBarron*, Janet Freedman, Michele Leber (Elected)
1982–1983	Janet Freedman*, Michele Leber, James McCoy (Elected)
1983–1984	Michele Leber*, James McCoy, Emalee Philpott (Elected)
1984–1985	James McCoy*, Emalee Philpott, Susan Vaughn (Elected)
1985–1986	James McCoy*, Emalee Durbin, Susan Vaughn
1986–1987	Emalee Durbin*, Susan Vaughn, Miriam Crawford (Elected)
1987–1988	Susan Vaughn*, Miriam Crawford
1988–1989	Miriam Crawford*, Ginny Moore Kruse (2 yr. term), Esther Helfand (3 yr. term)
1989–1990	Ginny Moore Kruse*, Esther Helfand, Rita Auerbach (Elected)
1990–1991	Esther Helfand*, Rita Auerbach, Christine Jenkins (Elected)
1991–1992	Rita Auerbach*, Christine Jenkins, Sarah Pritchard (Elected)
1992–1993	Christine Jenkins*, Sarah Pritchard, Sherrie Bergman (Elected)
1993–1994	Sarah Pritchard*, Sherrie Bergman, Nancy Magnuson (Elected)
1994–1995	Sherrie Bergman*, Nancy Magnuson, Mimi Davis (Elected)
1995–1996	Nancy Magnuson*, Mimi Davis, Kay Ann Cassell (Elected)
1995–1990	Mimi Davis*, Kay Ann Cassell, Bernadine Abbott Hoduski (Elected)
	Kay Ann Cassell*, Bernadine Abbott Hoduski, Pamela Bonnell (Elected)
1997–1998 1998–1999	Bernadine Abbott Hoduski*, Pamela Bonnell, Deborah Jacobs (Elected)
1999–2000	Pamela Bonnell*, Deborah Jacobs, David Cohen (Elected)
2000–2001	Deborah Jacobs*, David Cohen, June Garcia (Elected)
2001–2002	David Cohen*, June Garcia, Francis Buckley, Jr. (Elected)
2002–2003	June Garcia*, Francis Buckley, Jr., Virginia Moore (Elected)
2003–2004	Francis Buckley, Jr.*, Virginia Moore, Mary Elizabeth (Ma'lis) Wendt (Elected)
2004–2005	Virginia Moore*, Mary Elizabeth (Ma'lis) Wendt, James Kuhn (Elected); F. Buckley <i>emeritus</i>
2005–2006	Mary Elizabeth (Ma'lis) Wendt*, James Kuhn, Lucille C. Thomas (Elected); V. Moore <i>emeritus</i>
2006–2007	James Kuhn*, Lucille C. Thomas, Martin Garnar (Elected); M. Wendt <i>emeritus</i>
2007–2008	Lucille C. Thomas*, Martin Garnar, Jack Forman (Elected); J. Kuhn emeritus
2008–2009	Martin Garnar*, Jack Forman, Vivian Wynn (Elected); L. Thomas emeritus